The basic characteristics of the municipalities of Bačka in the Euroregion “The Danube-Drava-Sava”

Jelena Milanković, Smiljana Đukičin, Jasmina Đorđević


The Euroregion “The Danube-Drava-Sava” was brought into being for the purpose of stimulating the integration of the countries that it comprises into a unique entity in which mutual interests will be advanced. The aim of the Euroregion formation is not only the economic, but also the international, trans-border, political and social cooperation. Since 2002. four Serb municipalities have been granted the status of observers. Those are the municipalities of Subotica, Sombor, Apatin and Bač. Owing to this status, the mentioned municipalities have been offered the opportunity to develop different aspects of trans-border cooperation starting with agricultural and economic, leading to cultural and social. This paper is aimed to demonstrate what progress has been made and how much the municipalities have made use of their status in the mentioned Euroregion as well as what their perspectives and intentions for further development are.


Euroregion, Serbia, municipalities of Bačka

Full Text:



  • There are currently no refbacks.